Are you overpaying?
Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save
*rates based on survey data – Spring 2017
Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized
Cheap Car Insurance in Detroit, Michigan
Want to know more about Detroit and how to get cheap car insurance? Well, Detroit became the center of the automotive industry in the United States when Henry Ford opened the Ford Motor Company in this city.
Let Cheap Car Insurance help take the leg work out of shopping for the best car insurance in Detroit, MI. Get your auto insurance quote today!
Driving Conditions in Detroit
Driving during the wintertime can be a challenge because of the extensive snowfall that lasts from December to February. During the spring and summer months, Detroit residents continue to have driving challenges because of the severe thunderstorms. Drivers will need to take extra precautions during these times because thunderstorms often bring hail and very strong winds as well as the occasional tornado.
Odd Laws in Detroit
Automobile sales are off-limits in Detroit on Sunday. Women who wish to try a new haircut must not do so without their husbands’ permission. If they do, they have broken the law in Michigan.
Crime Statistics in Detroit
According to the U.S. Census Bureau, Detroit had the second highest number of automobile thefts in 2012 when 1,419 vehicles were stolen. The bureau also recorded 2,070 incidents of larceny and 2,117 incidents of burglary in the city.
More recently in 2015, authorities in Detroit reported 7,820 burglaries, 14,523 larcenies and 5,216 vehicle thefts increased, according to the FBI.
Under Michigan law, a drive or front-seat passenger must buckle up, and a passenger 8 to 15 must buckle up whether in the front seat or back seat, according to the Michigan State Police.
Meanwhile, children under 4 must ride in a car seat in the rear seat (if the vehicle has a rear seat). If all available rear seats are occupied by children under 4, then a child under 4 may ride in a car seat in the front seat. A child in a rear-facing car seat may ride in the front seat only if the airbag is turned off.
Kids must be properly restrained in a car seat or booster seat until reaching age 8 or a height of 4 feet, 9 inches. A child must ride in a seat until reaching the age or height requirement, whichever comes first.
Michigan law allows motorcyclists to go without a helmet as long as they are at least 21, have at least $20,000 in first-party medical benefits, and have held a motorcycle endorsement for at least two years or have passed a motorcycle safety course, according to the Michigan Secretary of State s Office. A motorcycle passenger 21 and over can go without a helmet if he or she has at least $20,000 in first-party medical benefits insurance in addition to the insurance required of the motorcycle operator. Operators and passengers under 21 must wear a helmet.
Bicycle operators and passengers in Michigan aren t required to wear helmets.
The City of Detroit bans use of a handheld electronic device while driving. That goes further than Michigan law, which bans texting while driving if an electronic device is in adult driver s hand or lap. Under state law, all teenage drivers are prohibited from using a handheld cellphone while driving.
Impaired Driving Law
Under Michigan law, impaired driving falls into several categories, according to the Michigan Secretary of State s Office:
- Operating while visibly impaired (OWVI) means your ability to operate a vehicle was visibly impaired by alcohol or drugs.
- Operating while intoxicated (OWI) involves alcohol or drugs in your body hampering your ability to safely drive a vehicle; a blood alcohol concentration of at least 0.08 percent; a high BAC of at least 0.17 percent.
- Operating with presence of a schedule 1 drug or cocaine (OWPD) means having even a small trace of these drugs in your body, even if you don t seem to be intoxicated or impaired.
- A driver under 21 operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.02 percent to 0.07 percent.
Among the penalties are a mandatory six-month license suspension, even for a first conviction; a mandatory one-year license suspension for a first conviction with a BAC of at least 0.17 percent; five days to one year in jail or 30 to 90 days of community service for a second conviction of drunk or drugged driving; a responsibility fee of $500 or $1,000, depending on the crime; and a license reinstatement fee of $125.